Hooked on a feeling

Standard

Last week, I got a taste of what I want for my future and it tasted great! I visited several vintage and thrift stores and found a few items I could use for jewelry.

The jade turtle. I bought this necklace for the turtle

The highlight of my day was visiting a little shop, Blackbird.It’s a small boutique in an up and coming neighborhood. I’ve actually admired the building for years and it’s good to see it finally put to good use.

I spoke with one of the owners about selling my jewelry there. It’s hard for me to talk about myself and my jewelry. I don’t know why. That’s a question for another blog. I was proud that I mustered up the courage to do it this time. Guess what, it paid off. I emailed her the link to my etsy store and received some very nice compliments. If it all goes well, I will be represented at Blackbird in April! WOW!

Days like this compel me to keep creating jewelry and writing. Mixed emotions of excitement and happiness with a little fear and anxiety, all good. It’s not just the memory of this day that stays with me, it’s the feeling I get when I remember this day. Sounds silly, but I smile from the inside out.

Beautiful red mohair yarn I got from a thrift store.

I long for more of these days on a consistent basis. I want to be an artist and freelance writer full-time.
The way I felt that day is how I want to live my life everyday. That taste still lingers. I am hooked on a feeling.

I love hematite, plus the jade turtle. I got this at a vintage store.

4 responses »

  1. Beautiful pieces! I agree that it’s sometimes hard to bring up to people. Sometimes I will know someone for a long time before they find my blog and say, “Why didn’t you tell me you were an artist?!” I guess it’s good to self promote, but it takes some courage. πŸ™‚ Glad it payed off for you!

  2. I’m so proud of you for feeling the fear and doing it anyway to ask about your jewelry. That is so awesome! Sometimes the greatest feelings we get are when we do something we fear to do.
    On another note, I am new to this blogging thing. How do you insert the URL so it doesn’t show as an URL but as a name (Like you did with Blackbird?)

  3. personally, working in a gallery myself, I don’t expect jewelry artists to be other than self-effacing and modest about their work. They are usually quiet and enjoy working small and aren’t big on self-promotion. So no one is likely expecting you to launch a blimp. And you’ll be better off selling to people who respond well to your personality than to those who want splashiness and hype. I love your work.

Leave a Reply

