Focus

Standard

Focal Swap Clasp

Focus, a condition in which something can be clearly apprehended or perceived. I for one tend to get easily distracted with all that I have going on, work, family, and house chores. Lately, my days have been a blurry haze of the daily grind that is my life.

This changed with my family suffering a surprising loss this past week. Loss makes you realize how short life is and that you have to make the most of every day you have on this earth. In my funk of the last month or so, this poignant moment gave me clarity. I gave notice at my job and registered for real estate classes. I decided to pay more attention to my creative endeavors. This is what makes me feel alive and gives me a purpose.

The red beads with the clasp, brass button and a brass dragonfly charm

I was fortunate enough to sign up for a Vocal Focal Swap. I felt like this would energize and motivate me to create. My swap partner Bonnie, sent me this beautiful clasp created by Melinda Orr. I’ve never really created pieces in which the clasp is the focal point of a necklace so this was an excellent challenge for me. I journeyed to Bead It! one of my favorite local bead shops and found some beautiful red beads.

I had some ideas for my necklace, but I wasn’t excited about any of them. I played with chain and beads and nothing sparked my imagination. I put it all away for a while and decided to marinate on my plan for the clasp. I tried to work on it last week but it seemed selfish to think about anything other than my family and the loss of a loved one.

Finally, the time came to shut down the “stuff” that has clouded my mind for weeks and concentrate on jewelry and completing my swap. Emphasizing the clasp was tough but it changed the way I approach creating and assembling a necklace. It forced me to get out of my design box and ultimately, motivated me to work, even when life is chaotic.

Contemplation, the finished necklace

There are aspects in life over which you have no control. We are human and death seems to be the one thing that makes us contemplate our existence and focus on what is important. My pondering has led me to appreciate life, celebrate my creativity and keep the focus.

2 responses »

  1. Lovely post! Your words reminds me of a bible verse: “It is better to go to the house of mourning than to go to the house of feasting, for this is the end of all mankind, and the living will lay it to heart.” Ecclesiastes 7:2

    Sometimes, even though losing a loved one is extremely hard, it reminds us of what is truly important, and keeps us more focused. xoxo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

